Public Guitar Playing

17Feb15

It’s been a recent fantasy of mine to perform guitar on the street. Not really concentrating on making money, but more to just do it. I’ve kind of fantasized that I would be playing some Bikini Kill song on the off-chance that another fan might recognize it and want to join in. This is the weird dream.

In any case, I’ve been compiling a list over the last week. These are songs that I think I could play with reasonable skill. All would be played on acoustic guitar.

As you might have guessed, it’s a lot of the Stones. Observe:

The Rolling Stones:

  • Honky Tonk Women
  • Dead Flowers
  • Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  • Loving Cup
  • Happy
  • Prodigal Son
  • Beast of Burden
  • Angie
  • Child of the Moon
  • Salt of the Earth
  • Sympathy for the Devil
  • Till the Next Goodbye
  • Tumbling Dice

The Ramones:

  • Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  • I Wanna Be Sedated
  • It’s a Long Way Back to Germany
  • I Want You Around
  • Carbona Not Glue

Nirvana:

  • In Bloom
  • Come as You Are

Others:

  • Dead Leaves On the Dirty Ground (White Stripes)
  • I am Superman (REM)
  • Buddy Holly (Weezer)
  • Houses of the Holy (Led Zeppelin)
  • Dukes of Hazard theme song (Waylon Jennings)

As you can see, it’s a weird list. Very heavy on the Stones and Ramones, and these are just the ones that I could play AND sing AND might sound reasonably good on acoustic guitar. I’m fairly confident that I could either replicate the electric SPIRIT, along with offering little variations in play to simulate the different effects (such as in “In Bloom” — full power chord intro to lighter power chords, then plucking one string at a time for the first verse, and so on).

I’ll take requests if you have them. Or if your street corner needs a troubadour, let me know.

No Responses Yet to “Public Guitar Playing”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

