Still on this “Batman’s Not Crazy Thing”

28May14

I can’t let it go. Maybe *I’m* the crazy one.

Nope. I’m right. I know what I’m talking about. Read on:

Batman is arguably the most popular comic book character of all time. Top 3 easily. Most people know who he is and what he’s about, and most people (I think) like him.

Most people do not like crazy people. Truly crazy people. Yeah, yeah, people followed Hitler, I get it.

But I just cannot get behind the idea that millions of people would be worshiping a crazy person. It calls into question everyone’s bumper stickers, phone icons, etc.

But at the same time, people wear Punisher shirts, so there’s that.

BUT IT STILL SEEMS CRAZY to have so many people love a crazy person. A crazy character, anyway. A crazy HERO. Nobody loves a crazy hero, because there kind of aren’t really such things. There are misunderstood heroes, who appear crazy. The BBC Sherlock Holmes comes to mind.

I just hate it.

He’s not crazy. I think that’s lazy to just say “Oh, he’s crazy.” I don’t think there’s a person out there who legitimately looooooves Batman because he’s crazy. They would love him because he’s human, he’s smart, resourceful, drives a cool car, looks cool, etc, etc.

“I like Batman ’cause he’s crazy.” Bull.

No Responses Yet to “Still on this “Batman’s Not Crazy Thing””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

