Ugh… The Beatles

23May14

I’m not trying to play like some sort of Beatle-hating Stones fan. I’m not. I own nearly every single Beatles album, several of their solo affairs, and I still sing a couple of their songs as my son’s lullabies, but….

Lately, my biggest music source has been my car ride to work, and I’ve been trying to stack my CD case with some of my less heard albums. Lately that included John Lennon’s “Imagine” and a greatest hits of Cheap Trick.

And I couldn’t finish either of them.

Again, it’s not that I don’t like the Beatles, or even that I don’t like those bands/albums. But right now, I just can’t take it. “Imagine” comes off real asshole. And only an asshole. It’s got something to do with Lennon using his celebrity to sell his ideas. If anyone else had written a song as nasty as “How Do You Sleep?” they would’ve been lynched. I mean, I get that ONLY he could write that song, and that’s part of what makes it special. But it’s also just kind of pointlessly nasty. I pulled it out giving “Oh, Yoko” plenty of room.

As for Cheap Trick, I guess i maybe know too much about them, as devout Beatlemaniacs. That’s all well and good, but I just couldn’t handle it with the direct quotes from “Taxman.” Write your own damn songs.

That’s kind of it. I’m at a place now where I can’t take the Beatles. At least for a while. It’s just too much.

No Responses Yet to “Ugh… The Beatles”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

