“F.I.G.H.T. Car” Staged Reading

11Oct13

Something I wrote got read and recorded and now you can hear the recording.

I’ll explain: I’m in a writers group called Deadline Junkies. We meet once a week where we (usually) hear about 30 pages of a script from 3 different writers. I say “hear” because each writer prints his or her pages, then casts the part from our stable of capable actors.

I had the pleasure of such a night when I brought my sample/pilot script for “F.I.G.H.T. Car,” the story of a crime-fighting talking car who was cutting edge in the 1980’s, but has been re-activated in the 2010’s to discover his features are now standard issue.

I want to say the read went well. And it did, in as far as it was very enjoyable. The actors were great and they sold the jokes harder than I probably wrote them, and everyone listening (writers and actors) seemed to enjoy it. I’m only qualifying the read because I believe the point of a staged reading in a workshop is to get effective feedback on how this script can be improved. I did get some of that, true, but the real fun of this link is the actors’ performance. It was a really fun night.

So, if you want to listen/watch, my friend and founder of Deadline Junkies Adam Strange put together this demo reel. He also has a link to the notes I received so you can get an idea of what goes on there. And if you’re curious about the group, go to this link. We meet every Tuesday night at 7:30 at a theater in Sherman Oaks.

No Responses Yet to ““F.I.G.H.T. Car” Staged Reading”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

